I've been having some problems with purging histories. I've recently ran some BWAs and after transferring the BAMs to a new history, I purged the histories that created them. It was my understanding that if you delete one instance of a file in one history, and it's still available in another history, the file itself would not be deleted.
After this happened, the BAMs claim the jobs that created them had not finished and they cannot undergo further analysis, yet the mapping had finished. I'm quite annoyed as there were quite a lot of BAMs I've lost yet my disk usage has not gone down, so is it possible they can still be recovered?