It does occasionally take some time (maybe an hour at most) for data to purge. Did you see disk usage go down at all (User -> Preferences -> Bottom of page)?
If still over quota, I suspect that there was not enough data permanently deleted. This wiki/video explains how to search your account. See section #8
Please let us know how this goes, Jen, Galaxy team