5 months ago by
Whenever you share data, any method, the other people get their own copy. It is not possible to work directly in the same history concurrently.
You can take turns - do some work, they import (will get the latest version each time) and do some work, you import back. Can permanently delete the intermediate histories to recover space. Make sure that jobs are completed and not running before you import or those will fail.
If you share directly (email) then deleted datasets can be imported (optionally). If sharing through a link, only active datasets are available.
This FAQ explains sharing. If shared by email, those accounts can find these under the history menu "Histories Shared with Me" and review only or get a copy. https://galaxyproject.org/learn/share/
If you both try to log into the same account and do work, odd errors and weird UI behavior can result, so I wouldn't recommend that.
Hope that helps! Jen, Galaxy team