Hello, I believe I've identified a bug affecting the importing of Galaxy workflows. Depending on how the import is done, some of the workflow metadata may be lost in transit. I am using the public Galaxy server usegalaxy.org).
When I share a workflow via a link (e.g., https://usegalaxy.org/u/flwu/w/import-bug-workflow), a colleague can visit the link and easily import the workflow directly by clicking the green '+' sign in the top right-hand corner. However, some of the workflow metadata – e.g., which steps are marked as workflow outputs, names of renamed output datasets – is lost. In my 2-tool example workflow (linked above), I only marked the final step as a workflow output and changed that step's output dataset name to "myOutput". The imported workflow, on the other hand, has both tool steps marked as workflow outputs and the final output dataset has reverted to its default name.
Interestingly, downloading and then importing the workflow through a file upload doesn't suffer from this issue. That is, the original and imported workflows are the same if this method is used.
If this is a replicable issue, can we get a fix?